How do I pause my subscription?

Pausing your paid plan is possible with StreamYard! It can be paused for up to 3 months. During this time, you won’t be charged, you’ll still have access to your recordings as well as other assets, and you can choose to restart your subscription at any time!

How to pause your plan

You can use this link https://streamyard.com/plan/pause to pause the account or you can follow these steps:

  1. Log into your account (you must be the owner in order to access the billing information).
  2. Click on "My account" at the top right.
  3. Select "Billing".
  4. Select "Change plan".
    Change_plan.jpeg
  5. Select "Choose free" at the bottom of the Free plan.
  6. Next, click on "Yes. Cancel and lose benefits".
    Are_you_sure__1_.JPG
  7. Check the box next to “It’s temporary, I’ll be back” then click on the "Pause plan" button that appears.
    Temporary.JPG
  8. Select the duration. You can choose 1 month, 2 months, or 3 months. Your plan will be paused at the end of your billing cycle and you can see when it would automatically restart before you pause it.
  9. Click on "Pause plan".
    Set_duration_and_pause.gif
    That's it!

If you try to go live when your subscription is paused, you will be prompted to resume your plan in order to do so. If you resume it, your subscription is renewed and you will be charged.

How to resume your paused plan

You can easily resume your plan before the pause ends. There will be a banner at the top of the page while you’re logged into your account. Click on the Resume plan button in the banner. 

Resume_plan_banner.JPG
Next, click on "Resume plan" in the window that appears to confirm.

Resume_plan.jpeg

The differences between pausing and canceling your subscription

Pausing your subscription is different from canceling. Pausing the plan allows you to put a hold on payments for a set time after which the plan will automatically restart. You'll have access to the paid features except for going live and recording when on pause. On the other hand, canceling ensures that you won't be charged again in the future. If you cancel, you will lose access to all the paid features, including your recordings. 

Please see the table below for a further breakdown of the differences:

Features Paused Subscription Canceled Subscription
Can be initiated within your account Yes Yes
Can be done by Support for you No Yes
Duration 1, 2, or 3 months Indefinitely unless you re-upgrade manually
Access to recordings and paid features Yes No
Can go live or record No Yes, only on the free plan

FAQs

Can I go back and cancel my plan after pausing it? 
Yes. You can cancel your plan while the account is on pause if you decide that you'd like to cancel instead. Check out our help article on canceling for more details.

Can I extend the duration of my pause? 
No. The pause cannot be extended if the billing cycle for the paid plan has ended. However, if you are still within the billing cycle and the pause hasn't kicked in as yet, you can resume the plan, then pause it again for longer. The maximum is 3 months.

Will I be notified by email when my pause is about the end?
Not at this time. We'll always show you a banner at the top of your account that tells you when it will end. You could also set a reminder on your calendar to track it personally. 

Why don't I see the billing option under "My account"?
This means that you're either on our business plan or not the owner of the account. Reach out to our team here for more info if needed.

Why can't I pause my plan? 
This may be because you are on a free plan, a free trial of a paid plan, or on the annual plan. However, if you have a paid subscription and you are unable to pause it, it may be because the subscription is in the renewal process. If that is the case, you may submit a request to reach out to our support team for help.

Related to

Updated

Was this article helpful?

20 out of 33 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.