We're so excited to announce the addition of Recording Controls! Recording controls allow any host to pause/resume, restart, and cancel a recording within a recording studio. This offers greater flexibility and control during your recording sessions and minimizes time spent in post-production!
How do Recording Controls work?
If a studio has no destinations set, it is technically a recording studio. Once you start recording, you'll see a set of controls at the top of the studio next to the "Record" button. Here are the functions of each button:
Clicking the trashcan icon will fully cancel/delete the recording in progress, resetting the studio back to the pre-recording state.
Clicking the restart icon will end the recording in progress, and instantly start the recording fresh.
Clicking the Pause/Play icon will stop or start the recording in progress.
How long can a recording studio be paused?
You can pause a recording studio for up to 24 hours! We will also end the recording after 24 hours if the studio is still paused.
Will pausing my recording deduct from my storage?
No. Pausing a recording will not affect your storage. Only the actual length of the recording will be taken into consideration.
Why can't I see the recording controls?
The recording controls don't appear until the recording has actually started, and will be hidden if a destination is added to the recording studio.
Note: If the current recording is paused and a destination is added, the stream will not start automatically. It will begin once the host clicks the Play button. The recording will be resumed at the point the host clicks the Play button and goes live with the stream.
Does pause and resume work with local recordings?
Yes! Local recordings are affected by the Recording Controls. This means that the canceled clips or what happened in the studio when the recording was paused will not be included in the local recordings.
Does this feature work with hotkeys?
Yes! StreamYard has hotkey assignments available for pause, resume, and cancel.
When I pause and start my recording will it save as multiple individual clips?
No. When you pause and start your recording multiple times, all clips will save together as one recording.
Are recording controls available on mobile devices?
Yes! You can use this feature on mobile devices.