Do you want to get more views on your live streams? Let your guests stream to their destinations too. Everyone's audience can participate in the same show. This feature is available on all paid plans.
How to Enable Guest Destinations
- Head to StreamYard and enter a studio.
- Click "Settings," then click "Guests."
- Check the first box "Guests can stream this to their own destinations."
- Now, when your guests enter the studio, they will see this button "Stream this to your audience."
Want to know the 3 reasons to live stream to your guest's destinations? Check out our blog post!
How many destinations can my guests add?
Each guest can add up to 2 destinations, and there is a limit of 6 guest destinations total for the broadcast.
What plan is this feature available on?
Available on all paid plans. Guests don't need to be on a plan.
Do guests need to create an account to add a destination?
Yes, guests must log in. We need an account to associate the destination to. It's super easy and quick to do. We use a popup window to allow guests to signup or login from within the studio.
Can hosts edit or delete a guest destination?
Hosts can remove a guest destination from the broadcast, but they can’t edit the details, like the title. The only thing they can edit is the start time, since the start time has to be the same for all destinations.
Does the guest need to be in the studio when the broadcast starts? Can they leave part way through?
No, they don’t need to be in the studio when it starts. Yes, they can leave part way through.
Where does the recording show up on StreamYard?
The recording will only appear in the host’s account on StreamYard.
Do guests need to be on a paid plan?
No, only the host needs to be on a paid plan.
Can the host moderate comments for guests?
All comments from guest destinations will show up in the studio, just like regular destinations. Only the host can show these comments on screen. We show a small link icon to indicate when a comment is from a guest destination. Hosts can’t moderate comments (delete/ban) on guest destinations, only guests can moderate comments on their own destinations. We didn’t want hosts to be able to ban viewers from a guest’s YouTube channel, for example.
Do guests on the free plan have a watermark on the stream?
No, it doesn’t matter what plan the guest is on. The stream content is determined by the host’s plan. If the host is on the essentials plan, which has the guest destinations feature and also has a watermark, then all streams, including the guest destinations, will have the essentials plan watermark.
Can you add guest destinations to pre-recorded streams?
No, it’s only for studio streams.
If a user enables guest destinations for a broadcast, will it be enabled for all their broadcasts?
Not quite. No existing broadcasts will be updated. But when a new broadcast is created, it will use whatever you last changed the setting to.
Can guests add a destination to a recording or On-Air webinar?
No, even if the guest destinations setting is on, we don’t allow guests to add destinations to a recording where the host hasn’t added any destinations themselves. Same for On-Air. If the host isn’t multistreaming to other destinations, we don’t allow guests to add destinations to an On-Air webinar.
Will added views and watch time count towards both the host's and guest's channels?
Added views and watch time are separate for each added destination to the broadcast. The guest's destination will not get the watch time/views from the hosts stream.
Does each channel get their own superchats?
Yes, superchats are separate for the added destinations and each channel would get their own.